Rico Haarbosch wins Formula Karting 2017

2017-12-06T12:23:34+00:00 5 December 2017|

After winning the world championships in 2016, there was only one big thing left for Rico Haarbosch to win; Formula Karting. Since Ruben Boutens took the first ever FK-championship last year, the youngster was determined to come on top in 2017. 

And so he did. He started the season off with four consecutive wins, a perfect start of the season. While Ruben Boutens struggled in his first two races and eventually only won one race all season long. Boutens did manage to still grab second place in the overal ranking, just on top of Mats de Jong. Yoan Medart battled with them for the podium all season long, but ended fourth with a big gap behind him to Selina Balneger, who is going to quit racing for a while now.

Thom van Dijk opened his season with a second place on his home-track, but mostly battled throughout the season for the places behind the podium with Nick van Ostade and Stefan Verhofsté. He won this battle by ending the season with another third place during the Grand Prix Final in Eupen.

Christian Douven completes the top-10, as he was rewarded ‘Talent of the year’ just as youngster Bastien Cabrera, who finished only three points behind him. Opnithi Puyato, Bart Martens and Logan Sougné performed consistently which give them P12, 13 and 14.

Jelle Soeffers showed us an incredible performance in the rain at Inkart, putting him on top of Bram Gelten and Ward Maenhout, who all finished well in the top-20. Rick Harthoorn was less fortunate. He had difficulties in finding the points in the first half of the season, but improved astonishingly in the second half. The season ended a little bit too soon for him, putting him on P21, just outside the bubble for a secure sport at FK1 in 2018.

Cuno de Bruin, Dave Singelee, Dylan Teunissen, Giovanni van Blitterswijk and Giovanno van der Broek showed us some exciting battles in their aim to end up in the top-20. We hope they will strike back in FK2, to give them a second shot to show their skills in FK1.

Thank you all for a magnificent season!